EastofEden

10+ Year Member
Nov 19, 2007
Ontario, Canada
Status
Pre-Medical
I am a second year student at a Canadian university studying Environmental Science. GPA = 3.98+. Haven't written MCAT and won't until summer after third year, but plan to devote four full months to it and I am teaching myself orgo and re-teaching myself physics this summer.

On the academic front, I think I am above average. Obviously, without an MCAT score, this is preliminary speculation. My huge problem is extracurriculars. I am so embarrassed by my lack of involvement, but it is due to the following:

a) I am shy. I especially hate interviewing (yes, I already know, very important and something I am addressing)

b) I have a long term boyfriend (5+ years) who is a big sap on my time for building the EC component of my application. I also have 2 dogs which means that I can't stay at school from 8AM to 10 PM straight

c) I don't have money. I have a lot of interests that I would love to pursue as hobbies, such as drawing or learning tango, but they all cost money that I don't have.

d) I don't have leadership experience from high school. I switched schools in Grade 11 and had a hard time getting into the *very* small extracurricular scene. Most positions were teacher-appointed. I also had to maintain a >95% average in order to get an entrance scholarship I really needed, and I worked 20+ hours a week.

e) I applied to a lot of leadership positions and joined a lot of clubs in my first year. I was flat out rejected from all of them due to my lack of leadership experience. (see above).

So that sums up the problems I face when trying to improve this component.

ECs so far:

- in high school: tutored three students for free, peer mentor

- in university:
*member of a few clubs, not really involved
*completed first level of a leadership program at my school (an attempt to make up for (d) )