Failed Calc 2 and about to fail organic chemistry 1, PRE-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

me0wing

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Let me start with the back story. I didn't start college thinking of going to medical school but I still took some of the courses required. Mostly because I love science and math. I have passed general chem 1&2, biology 1&2, pre-Calc & calculus 1, and fundamentals of neuroscience and cell biology with A's. I studied every single day. Woke up with my books surrounding me on my bed and fell asleep with my books surrounding me on my bed. Woke up to studying and fell asleep to studying. I loved it. Now, all these courses were taken at one school. I decided to transfer to another school that offered a better degree to get into medical school. However right after my freshman year my house caught on fire and we lost everything. I didn't have my bed to study on anymore. I didn't have the home I grew up in for the past 13 years of my life. Starting sophomore year I was still in the school I wanted to transfer out of (I was taking Calc 1, bio 2, and chem 2 at this point). I was already slipping away from my studies given I couldn't study at home, but I had one friend who did manage to help me. She kept boosting my self esteem. Collected extra handouts for me whenever I came 5 mins late to class. She kept me on top of my studies after the fire. We stayed in school till 1 am 4 days a week studying because I had no place to study at home (the house we moved into was small, I shared a room with my younger brothers and could no longer study till 3 am). She was the reason I kept holding on. The second semester of sophomore year was in the school I transferred to. I thought I could do well so I took 18 credits (writing class, Calc 2, fundamentals of neuroscience and cell biology, astronomy, death and afterlife). I passed all these courses with an A except Calc 2 (F) and writing (B)