1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Failed USMLE/Passed COMLEX...worried about options

Discussion in 'Step I' started by sk1985, Aug 16, 2011.

1. sk1985

Medical Student
    So here is my predicament: I took the COMLEX in June and walking out of the test, I knew I hadn't done my best and felt I could do better. I had a bunch of people tell me to take the USMLE so my options would not be limited, so while on my July rotation, I studied and took the USMLE in mid-July. I felt even worse walking out of that test.

At the beginning of August, I got my COMLEX and USMLE scores within days on one another: I passed the COMLEX, but barely (as in the low 400's) and I failed the USMLE. (I know what I did wrong, I was so focused on getting through First Aid thoroughly, I ran out of time and did less than 400 questions and only took 1 practice exam and it is almost impossible to study after working all day)

So now I am really worried. I was pretty upset but figured that I would work really hard on my rotations, study throughout the next year and rock Step 2 and just apply to DO residencies. The problem is, I just realized that I really love Peds but I KNOW I will want to do a fellowship too, as in Peds cardiology. Well, there just aren't that many osteopathic peds fellowships. If I do get a DO residency, and then decided to do a fellowship (which would have to be allopathic), do I have to report that I failed USMLE Step 1 in my fellowship application? Or will I not even be able to apply since I failed?

Should I try and take USMLE Step 1 again? I'm in middle of rotations and I can't imagine studying for it all over again, but if I need to, I can and I'll work my best to pass but I know I won't knock it out of the park. I'm just so stressed about what to do and I know I screwed up all of my options. Any honest advice would be great.