Family Doc in Reserves vs Guard

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chris Knight

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I appreciate your time and answers.

I am a family practice resident finishing my chief year at a civilian residency, and seriously considering the guard vs reserves. I have talked to several recruiters and weighed my various options, and feel comfortable that This is something I want to do. But, I still have qualms about which to join. I relate this to the fact that despite the recruiters and physicians I've talked to, I still haven't a good handle on several areas for potential differences

I appreciate any help you can give in this regard. I thought I might gain the most insight by outlining certain aspects of why I am choosing this path, and ask that you make a case for which service best fulfills these goals. They are as follows:

-fulfilling experience ( meaningful, rewarding and challenging medicine)
-opportunities for advancement (in rank and responsibilities)
-educational experiences ( tropical medicine, aerospace etc etc)
-not getting shot/blown up

Those are in no particular order.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hint!

Don't join an organization who's primary purpose is fighting wars where people get shot and blown up, then be surprised when you're deployed to a war zone!!!

I am very aware of the inevitability of deployment. That said, how directly one stands in harms way in the respective services is my concern. I'm a doctor , I'm interested in doctoring.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm interested in hearing responses to the OP as well.

-fulfilling experience ( meaningful, rewarding and challenging medicine)
-opportunities for advancement (in rank and responsibilities)
-educational experiences ( tropical medicine, aerospace etc etc)
-not getting shot/blown up

Those are in no particular order.
Thanks!