Family Donations - does it matter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Hulk

Official Green Monster
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

This is my first post and my first time on the board. I'm a post-bac student looking to apply for fall '05 admission to med school. My uncle, who passed away last year, was a very prominent doctor who left a sizable portion of his estate (meaning multiple millions of dollars) to his alma mater - a top ten ranking med school. As a result, my aunt now knows the head of "alumni relations" (i.e. giving) at this school and she said she would be happy to speak to him on my behalf when the time comes. Is this of any real use? - I've heard it doesn't matter who you know, it won't help you get into a top med school. If this relationship is useful, what's the best way to use it? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome to SDN, Hulk! :) Forgive me, but I have to wonder if you're for real? If you are, I would say use the connection carefully. It may be useful, but you don't want to come off as sounding like you have a right to be there. Many schools' secondaries ask if you have a connection to the school. That would be the place to mention it I would think. And I think it would be OK for your Aunt to mention to her friend that you're applying. Let him take it from there. If your application is strong enough that you would normally have a shot there, then I think the connection may help you. But if not, then I wouldn't think it would.

Best of luck, and keep us posted!!! :)

Dude...we're talking at least 7 figures here. It'd help to have a reasonably strong application, but the 7 figures should give you a boost. Don't make too much of a big deal out of it or get too cocky, as SMW said, but it should help. The alumni/donation thing isn't as strong for med schools as it is for undergrad, but it's still a factor.

-RA