Farmacy School Follies: Or How My School Trains Pharmacists Not to be Pharmacists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmer1921

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I am a student at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy Class of 2020. Today, our Dean presented us with a "unique" opportunity. He, our Dean, let the student body know we will, in the short future, be able to do a PharmD/NP pathway. Yes, you are reading that correctly. Pharmacy schools are now training their pharmacists to not be pharmacists in response to the mess they created. I would like to get people's opinion on this. A girl in the class above us asked why they are moving away from training people to be pharmacists and the Dean responded that instead of fighting for pharmacist prescribing rights this will be an easier pathway. The school will go public with this information in January.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
How is this possible? To be an NP, one must first be a nurse.

The PharmD/PA thing has been done, rather unsuccessfully.
He told us they had the legal stuff worked out, and everything is ready to go. I have no answer for your question.

Members don't see this ad :)
Please keep us updated on the details of this (interesting/unique) program.

Pharmacy schools seem to lack focus on what's important (basic drug, OTC knowledge, drug literature review, guideline based prescribing/level of evidence, etc.) for pharmacists. They are making pharmacists a jack of many trades, master of none.

I can see it now....elderly patient inquires RPh/NP about BMs over the phone...10 minutes later said elderly comes into pharmacy requesting RPh/NP to administer enema.

Pay to be trained in two professions, work in one. Smart move for your school.

Reactions: 5 users