Fear of the Military vs Fear of Loans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PistolPete3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Thank you in advance for the help. I am an aerospace engineer planning on attending medical school in the fall. I have been lucky enough to get accepted to my top choice schools, but none of the low cost schools to which I applied. I also have thought long and hard about HPSP and got my paperwork together, but never completed the submission.

As I start to really do a financial analysis on the loans (probably 250-275k), I am starting to wonder if HPSP might be the right decision. My recruiter contacted me and said it is not too late to submit, but I am not a fan of making this decision out of fear.

I see both the debt and the military as substantial commitments that may have a significant impact on my quality of life. The military does offer some unique opportunities (especially for an aerospace guy that loves flight), but there is a significant cost to any commitment extending out so many years.

I will allow that without the financial consideration I would not be considering the scholarship. I know many say to rule out the financial carrot, but would anyone choose HPSP without it? The way I see it taking out 270k ballooning to ~330k after school and ~450k after residency (vague estimates) represents a pretty tremendous commitment and a significant potential downside to medicine.

Honestly if I were only signing up for a four year military commitment I would take the scholarship without question. Given the reality of the military match and residency, the decision is a bit more difficult.

I know I am far from alone, but does anyone have strong opinions or guidance? Thanks also to everyone in the military med forums who responded to my last post.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user