Feasibility of starting a NGO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SonhosDaVida

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergraduate student looking to start a NGO at my school centered upon educating people on proper disposal of medicines, donating OTC's to rural areas, and coordinating OTC collections for proper disposal around the school. Do you think this is enough to be approved as a NGO? And how hard is it to maintain a NGO/to start a NGO? What are the requirements before hand? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I am an undergraduate student looking to start a NGO at my school centered upon educating people on proper disposal of medicines, donating OTC's to rural areas, and coordinating OTC collections for proper disposal around the school. Do you think this is enough to be approved as a NGO? And how hard is it to maintain a NGO/to start a NGO? What are the requirements before hand? Thanks.
this sounds good enough for the international ngo certification board to approve

What is the internation NGO certification @flapjack3d ? And how to I submit my club for approval? Thanks. I read that NGO's can usually be maintained for 2 years max with UG's. I don't know all of the logistics to starting a NGO.

Members don't see this ad :)
They're messing with you.

Try starting a little smaller. You may like the sound of starting an NGO, but you usually need some pretty serious momentum/demonstrated capacity before you can be approved for official certifications like 501c3 non-profit status or w/e it is that you're going for (if I'm not mistaken). Figure out who/what groups are already doing this. Talk to them and consider a club or local chapter. The school's probably not going to love the idea of students doing anything with large amounts of drugs (otc or not), but there may be a way.

Any doofus can start a nonprofit. It's just paperwork