1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

feel like your in med school?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by Conjuctiva, Dec 2, 2008.

1. Conjuctiva

2+ Year Member

I dont...

Sure, i study a lot everyday, (anatomy, histo, biochem are our first half of MS1 courses), and we have finals next week, and i'm studying like 8-10 hours a day for em.

Granted, i go to SGU, so maybe thats why i dont feel like i'm in medical school... but i dont think it'd make a difference...

i thought medical school was going to be something like WOW or just different than what it is...

to me its just like undergrad, except with a lot more volume.

anyone else feel the same? I know it'll change once i get into clinicals and start having real patient contact, my god i cant wait!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. meister

meister Senior Member
    Physician Gold Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    It doesn't really feel like undergrad to me. I think that's mostly because everyone that surrounds me is either the same or more enthusiastic about being here. And everyone studies pretty much every day, so the jokers that used to love wallowing in their ignorance in class and telling everyone how cool they are are just gone.

So it's been a much better experience thus far than undergrad. Sure, biochem was somewhat like undergrad, but gross anatomy and gross lab sure aren't like anything I ever took. Today I took a bone-saw to a human skull and took out a brain. If that doesn't make me feel like I'm in med school I don't know what will.

4. vasca

vasca En la era postpasambre
    5+ Year Member

I felt somewhat similar when I was an M1. Luckily my university at that time had introductory cliical chart courses that really made you feel like you were studying to become a doctor and not a micoscope slide diagnotician.