Mar 5, 2013
Tailor shop on the Promenade
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hello fellow nontraditionals,

I'm a postbacc student at HES and did a semi one year track approach, meaning I took Bio, Physics and Organic this past semester (took general chemistry at another institution -> A-/B+).

I started well but suffered during finals for several reasons, not counting the intensity of the courses. I had an SO going through personal issues, not able to find a job, and stressed about his grad school applications. I could not work so we we had spent almost all our savings. I was also experiencing some personal issues I've struggled with for the last couple of years. I was also not getting enough sleep.

Excuses aside, I went in with Bs in bio and physics, and an A- in organic, but did poorly on my finals. I still got a B in bio and physics, but I got a C in organic. Organic was my last final, so I was physically and emotionally spent by then, and wasn't able to finish the exam. It is especially discouraging since I know and love the material, and had a decent average throughout the semester.

Unfortunately I don't have the option of taking Orgo or Bio II in the summer - summer school at Harvard only offers the full year and is twice as expensive, so I cannot afford it. Plus, I don't want another red flag on my application by taking it somewhere else. I might still take the three courses next semester, as I now know how to approach the material and organize my time. So, my plan is this: take courses in the spring, study for the MCAT in the summer and take it early fall, and repeat Organic in the fall while taking another science course (A&P most likely). I want to avoid the new MCAT, hence why I want to follow this plan.

Tomorrow I will meet with the pre-medical director to discuss my options, but I wanted to share my thoughts with you and get some perspective from fellow students. Any and all insight will be greatly appreciated.