Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Fellow Predents

Discussion in 'Dental' started by UofM01, Nov 22, 2001.

1. UofM01

UofM01 Senior Member

HI,

I have been reading many posts in the last months. They have been very helpful. I need some help and some advice please.

I am a 2nd year applicant. I have a degree in Psychology from the University of Michigan. Besides for the basic requirements I have taken, Embryology(grad level), Chem based Biochem(grad level), Biochem Biology based, and Physiology. Currently Im enrolled in 2 graduate level courses Endocrine Physiology and Histology.

I have been working at a dental office for the last 5 years (no joke). I want this more than anything else.

My Help is needed in that I have a 3.1 overall GPA and a 2.78-2.8 sci gpa.

I recently retook the DAT in August and achieved scores of 18-Acedemic, 16-PAT and a 20-SCI.

Trust me I know I do not have the best GPA. I did not really focus too much my first years in my comm. college and I am paying the price.

Believe it or not I graduated with Distinction at the University of Michigan. But with the grades averaged with my comm. college it really brings it down on the application.

I applied in August and was so happy when I recieved an interview from NYU. It was in early Nov. and even the the doctor who interviewd me there told me that my personality does not reflect my grades.

Also, I just recieved notice that I will have an interview at Nova dental school sometime in January.

University of Michigan sent me a letter stating that they would like to see my fall semestar grades as soon as they are posted. I am working really hard to achieve good grades.

I just want to get into dental school. I really would like to go to U of M or Nova. Can anyone please tell me what they think of my situation? I wish everyone the best of luck and I hope that we all are blessed this year with the future that will make you happy!