Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

femals can't be good surgeon?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by dr.lk, Jul 14, 2001.

1. dr.lk

dr.lk Junior Member

i am a medical student & i have talked with lots of doctors & surgeon.? so many of then disappointed me taht girls/femals can't be good surgeons. few says taht it need more physical stenght, few says need capacity to stand & few says taht it is hard hearted work? really can't can't be good surgeon? & what is teh best specilised branch of sugeons in the world for girl which is parallel good in the rising carrier also. [email protected]

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Winged Scapula

Winged Scapula Cougariffic!
    Staff Member Administrator Physician Faculty Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved

Attending Physician
    With the *possible* exception of some orthopedics work (it takes a fair bit of strength to reduce a dislocated bone; I've tried), I know of no special strengths needed to be a surgeon and no reason why women cannot stand on their feet as long as men.

If you want to be a surgeon, don't let your professors dissuade you just because you are female. Their line of thinking is old-fashioned and patently wrong.

4. MoeDaMan

MoeDaMan Senior Member

woman can't be good surgeons?

What a bunch of boloney....you know there once was a point in time where women supposedly couldn't be good doctors......it is just a bunch of chauvinistic pigs trying to disuade you....my belief is that they may be threatened by ur intellect and if some of them are competeing with u for the same position...maybe that is their way of getting rid of the competition...'

if we can have women in the millitary and in wrestling....then we sure in hell can have a female surgeon :D

5. Flea

Flea Member