Quantcast

Ferri's vs. Washington Manual

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrDude

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Which one do you recommend is better for medicine: Ferri's Care of the Medical Patient or Washington Manual?

J-Rad

Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
When I was a med student I prefered Ferri due to its readability, both from a linguistic and layout perspective. I don't think there is any fundamental difference in quality between the two, but Wash was visually dense and visually hard to read. The newer editions of Ferri seem to have a smaller font size than previous editions, but still seem to have a pretty clean and readable layout.

Richie Truxillo

Your Scut Monkey Mentor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I saw a 3rd year with Ferri's today and I really liked the layout of it better. Seemed like it explained more. My attending wanted us to use the Washington Manual which is really verbose and unattractive. I'll borrow one of the 3rd year's books tomorrow and thumb through it tomorrow.

gclax30

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I saw a 3rd year with Ferri's today and I really liked the layout of it better. Seemed like it explained more. My attending wanted us to use the Washington Manual which is really verbose and unattractive. I'll borrow one of the 3rd year's books tomorrow and thumb through it tomorrow.

Agree with all of the above. I also felt that Ferri's had some of the more obscure factoids that Washington manual suprisingly left out despite its pages of mind-boggling single spaced tiny print.

Good to hear from you Ricardo, how is 4th year treating ya?

Richie Truxillo

Your Scut Monkey Mentor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good to hear from you Ricardo, how is 4th year treating ya?