Figuring out if Anesthesia is Right for Me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDO2016

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm just a medical student exploring options. I'm actually the president/founder of the anesthesia interest group at my medical school and wanted to see if it's a good fit for me. However, I've had an extremely hard time trying to shadow one and I don't think I will get exposure till I'm a MS4, is that common?

Some questions:

Do all anesthesiologists have to be morning people? I know most surgeries are scheduled in the morning but I really am not a morning person. I don't think I would enjoy waking up at 5 am everyday... I know it may sound immature but I prefer the 9-5 workday and even working at night...

Are anesthesiologists losing a lot of jobs to CRNAs and the future does not look well?

Any tips for promoting interest in my med school club and activities/things I should plan for meetings?

Thanks in advance for your insight!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all, I'm just a medical student exploring options. I'm actually the president/founder of the anesthesia interest group at my medical school and wanted to see if it's a good fit for me. However, I've had an extremely hard time trying to shadow one and I don't think I will get exposure till I'm a MS4, is that common?

Some questions:

Do all anesthesiologists have to be morning people? I know most surgeries are scheduled in the morning but I really am not a morning person. I don't think I would enjoy waking up at 5 am everyday... I know it may sound immature but I prefer the 9-5 workday and even working at night...

Are anesthesiologists losing a lot of jobs to CRNAs and the future does not look well?

Any tips for promoting interest in my med school club and activities/things I should plan for meetings?