Filled an Rx for Phendimetrazine (C3) with invalid date and concerned...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorRx1986

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, SDNers. I’ve been a pharmacist for five years and have luckily made very few errors, especially those of a serious nature. Unfortunately, today I made a mistake and only realized after dispensing and selling the prescription for a C3, phendimetrazine, that the rx was dated 01/24/2017, making it invalid according to the CSA. It was already closing time after a 10 hour shift and I looked at the patient’s record and noticed the same doctor had prescribed the medication in October 2017 for the first time as well as in November 2017. I have deduced that chances are the physician meant 01/24/2018 instead of 2017 and so I printed an image of the script and attached it to the hard copy with a simple annotation “Called MD to verify date and meant 01/24/18”. Of course I did this to cover myself but the thing is I haven’t actually called because it was 6 pm and I didn’t know what else to do . Today was also my last day working and I’m going to Europe on vacation for 2 weeks and I’m not feeling too great as I feel I have screwed big time. I’m pretty sure the MD screwed up the year on the prescription but I can’t believe I didn’t catch the 2017 and filled it/dispensed . Everything else was correct- right patient, right drug, strength, etc. Am I in for a major problem? I even attached a PDMP report to further cover myself . Since I did not actually call the MD to verify that he just screwed up the year, I will try calling tomorrow and I’m hoping I’m right and that the office just tells me he meant 01/2018. Any old timers or those with more experience can tell me about possible repercussions due to this mistake? Will this result in an Walgreens audit ? The DM hearing about this? Will I get a “stars” report even though I think I documented enough ? What ca