Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

financial aid for international students

Discussion in 'Financial Aid' started by t7964, May 23, 2002.

1. t7964

t7964 New Member

Hi,
    I'm new to this forum and am hoping someone out there would help me out in a tough decision I am debating about. I am an international student who is doing undergrad here in the U.S., and would very much like to go to a medical school here. I am currently a junior and hope to start applying this summer, but first I need to know which schools offer any kind of financial assistance to foreign students to obtain an M.D(not M.D./Ph.D). So far, I know only Columbia, Harvard, and Baylor have some kind of aid for international students. Is there anyone who has gone through a similar kind of search and knows more schools that have financial aid programs for non-citizens? I have also heard that loans are generally not a good idea, since they have significantly higher interest rates for non-citizens, and considering the paucity of income that you will have during residency, you'll be in debt for a long time. Is there anyone more knowledgeable about these things, and are there other types of private/public aid that is available to people like me?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. paean

paean Senior Member

I don't know aout schools, but if you really want to stay in the US, you will eventually be able to pay off the loans, even at the terrible rates, as long as thy are willing to take lower payments during residency. Depending on where you are from, you might want to look into lenders in your home country, I have heard of students doing that for undergrad. Also, if you plan on staying in the US permanently, and you have family who are citizens, you could consider defering and working on getting permanent residency. I know these ideas may not help, so best of luck.

4. mackaikai