. Deleted

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

deleted011111

5+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I hope I'm posting this in the right section, but I wanted to get some advice about the financial aspect of going to medical school. I am currently a rising senior in undergrad, and will graduate with a loan already of around 35k. I am planning on taking two years after I graduate to get more extracurriculars for my application (since I was stupid and did not do nearly enough in the last few years), and hopefully get a paid job that is clinical related. I was thinking of being a tech in the hospital I volunteer at for a year or two to help pay back this loan.

However, I know that medical school will probably cost around 80k/year for me (unless the 40k typical amount is per year and not per semester - I might be being stupid), and I'll probably come out with about 200-300k in debt, since my parents are not paying for any of the tuition. They may help me with living expenses, but we don't know yet. The debt really sounds scary to me, even if I'm coming out of residency making six figures. Having the undergrad loan that may or may not get paid off before medical school is just making it worse. I really want to apply to the cheapest medical schools, since money is high priority, but I obviously can't guarantee I'll get into a school with cheap out of state tuition.