Oct 2, 2020
Status
  1. Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Hello everyone,

I am currently an 22 year old undergraduate student pursuing dentistry. I have quite a bit of interests in the healthcare field, however, I feel as though dentistry fits my liking the most. With that however, there are a few things that I just can't seem to get a clear understanding on. I feel as though you guys can help answer some of these questions:

1) Is it worth it to get a dental degree if you plan on only being an associate or working in corporate dentistry? It seems like the large majority of people plan to open their own practice, but as of right now, that is not something I see myself doing at all. I like the dentistry aspect of dental medicine, but I do not want to go home worrying about finances and if the lights are going to stay on at the office. I would much rather go in for "shift work" and practice dentistry solely, and then go home free to my family and other interests.

I see starting salaries for associates anywhere from $120K - $200K in Florida for corporate offices plus benefits and paid time off... I do not know why, but everyone makes it out to be a disadvantage to be an associate, but doing some research I found that the AVERAGE private practice owner makes roughly the same. Some even less + extra stress + no benefits. Correct me if I am wrong however.

2) Being an associate/working for corporate, what can I expect in a work week (hours/how many days of work in a week)? Is it any different from a private practice?

I guess my questions are all about whether dentistry is worth it financially with the lifestyle I am trying to live as an associate. There are just so many variables when it comes to student loans and owning a business and how you pay off debt etc.