Financing Irish Education

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

funkmasta

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm very new to the idea of attending a foreign medical school, and I was wondering how those of you attending Irish medical schools (US citizens) are financing your educations. I was looking at the RCSI website -- 29,000 pounds!?! Plus living expenses/travel. That's a bit much for five/six years, despite the fact that the education seems excellent! Can US loan programs even cover that amount? I'm interested in primary care so my earning capacity would not be as high. Also, on a more frivolously curious note -- does an MB BCh BAO actually entitle you to be called "Doctor" ? Thanks so much for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, an MB BCh BAO is an MD equivalent and entitles you to be called "Doctor." Actually, although I'm not sure about this, you are allowed to put MD after your name for the sake of clarification and simplification issues.

First of all, that's 29,000 EUROS. Irish pounds don't really exist anymore :). And right now, the euro is about equal to the dollar. Last year's RCSI tuition was about 27,000 or 28,000 euros.

As a US citizen, you are allowed to take out Stafford and Perkins loans. These do cover costs sufficiently. I think you're allowed to take out over 50,000 in loans, actually. I'm not sure what the restrictions are because I'm not taking out loans at the moment, but if you have undergrad loans that may play into it as well.

RCSI is the most expensive Irish school. TCD, UCD are around 18,000 euros for last year's tuition, although there is a tuition price-hike in talks that all third-level students are in the process of "fighting." RCSI's tuition is one of the main reasons I'm not going there, in addition to the fact that it's only a med/health sciences school and nothing else.

Hope that helps ;)