getAsordietrying

2+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi,

So I am an up-and-coming sophomore next year and I did well Freshman year alongside my extracurricular activities. My college runs on the quarter system and next year is considered to be the hardest year due to o-chem and bio classes. My goal would be to fit in a clinical volunteering activity alongside a research position for next year. I have good time-management skills but I tend to over study and I will be spending about 9 hours on a typical week for my leadership roles as well, 2 hours a week doing non-clinical volunteering and 5-6 hours a week doing sports, so I will have some free time for other activities. Thus, I want to do 3-4 hours of clinical volunteering and possibly start a research position next year. My worry is I will have to cut something out of my schedule junior year as I will be taking physics and upper division bio classes, so should I seek out my research position by the end of sophomore year or early in junior year so I am better acquainted with my capabilities

Thanks.

Nov 15, 2013
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Cut back on the studying unless you really need it to get A's. Or spread out some of your ECs to junior year. Also make sure to leave time for fun.

BurghMed

Shaka Bra!
5+ Year Member
Feb 3, 2013
Status
Medical Student