First author and co-author

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

relentless11

Going broke and loving it
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi fellas, i'm just seeing if any of you guys have gotten any papers published thus far? I recently got my name in on a journal as co-author, which is a big wow for me as, i'm still an undergrad. The professor that i'm working under now has offered me a chance to do a paper for another journal as first author. And i would like to know what anybodie's experiences concerning the status of being a first author.

I know it'll be .......demanding. But...its an opportunity i can't refuse, as its something i can be proud of for one thing, and secondly something that i can throw on that AMCAS app when i apply ;). Apparently i have another chance after this one to be a 1st author. Does being published a lot help? Anyone here got into med school's because of getting published in addition to whatever else they take into account?

I definately know it helps(as its required :)) for the MD/Phd programs, so yea. I just want to get into an MD program. I'll think about something else later :)

Members don't see this ad.

Is there any difference between 2nd and 3rd author??
(while we are answering questions)

I think.......and correct me if i'm wrong, the 1st author is the one that takes the full brunt of the paper. Which is writing, organization, and research involved in doing it. The co-authors(2nd, 3rd...and beyond) probably either help edit it(as in my case) or contributed their knowledge of the subject into it. Thats just in general though. Its also possible that they all had a hand in writing each section of the paper, and their names are placed in ABC order.

Is that correct?

Members don't see this ad :)