first post ever

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by jot, Nov 3, 2002.

1. jot

jot

w00t for pharm

-jot

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. isidella

Yeah, let's get this PhamD. party started!!!

4. DW

DW Fix me some sandwiches
    Moderator Emeritus

Medical Student
    Hi. I'm a pre pharmacy student, I think, taking some classes that might be pre requisites for getting into pharmacy school. I think I took the right standardized test that pharmacy students take last fall and did ok on it. Can someone tell me how and when to apply to pharmacy school, what schools there are, and what a pharmacist does? Basically, do I have a shot? :confused:

5. Kovox

Kovox Going Places

YAY a Pharm D forum

:clap: :clap:

6. Woot! for my Pharm D buddies. Congratulations on getting a forum!!!

7. Yay!!!! :clap: :clap:

I am glad; now there will be a place for pharm.D students to ask question!

DW: You are funny! :laugh: :laugh:

Nice way to welcome, though! Now, it will start off the forums with people answering your questions ;)

8. Dr JPH

Dr JPH Banned
    Banned

Resident [Any Field]
    Where do you live?

How you apply depends on the school.

If you have the prerequisites, then you will start in the 1st graduate year of the program.

There are some programs that are gradaute only, and other where you start as a first year college student and do the whole 6 years.

Do a search to find out about schools.

Retail pharmacists count pills.

Pharmacy is not for everyone...sure as hell wasn't for me. Thought about becoming a Pharmacist for awhile, worked in retail pharmacy, and now I am glad I am on to bigger and better things. I saw the light.

Don't get me wrong, Pharmacists learn a lot and make a boat load of money (relatively).

But there is no way I am standing behind a counter for 12 hours a day filling bottles. I did it before and never again. :)

Good luck.

9. DW

Moderator Emeritus

Medical Student