1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

first responder course..good idea?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by mspaic, Dec 3, 2005.

1. mspaic

mspaic Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

hey i'm in second year of undergrad

i'm trying to find activities that give me an edge over other med school applicants

there's this course running at my univeristy in january

-----------------------------------------------------

Red Cross First Responder Course

Time Commitment: ~40 Hours (100% attendance required)

Prerequisite: Standard First Aid highly recommended

Course Materials: Red Cross First Responder: Second Edition (Included in course fee), Red Cross First Responder Certification Card (valid for 3 years).

Description: The Red Cross Emergency First Responder (EFR) course focuses on advanced first aid assessment techniques and skills. This course is geared toward individuals who have an interest in first aid and pre-hospital care or those who will be responsible for providing first response in the workplace. The EFR course provides training in the following areas:

-Emergency scene management
    -Human body systems
    -Preventing disease transmission
    -Patient assessment techniques
    -Respiratory and cardiac emergencies
    -Advanced breathing devices (such as bag-valve-masks and oxygen therapy)
    -Treatment for bleeding and shock
    -Musculoskeletal injuries
    -Treatment of Head and Spinal injuries
    -Treatment of medical emergencies (such as diabetes and strokes)
    -Treatment for poisonings and heat/cold emergencies
    -Treatment of special populations (such as paediatric and elderly casualties)
    -Emergency childbirth