Quantcast

First Semester in college pre-dental

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nelampari

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hi guys,
I'm a freshman in college, haven't received my grades/GPA for the semester yet, but I know I've screwed up pretty badly this first semester in college because of many outside factors. I think my grades are going to be C/Ds in all classes (bio I, eng I, phil, calc I, bio lab).
I'm a biology major with pre-dental interest, so how much impact will a bad first semester have on my dental school application? Do I have a chance?
My goal is to become an oral surgeon and I've learned a lot from my mistakes this semester, but I want to know how I can improve even more.

Any feedback is appreciated :) :xf:

Denthuskali

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
you are worried just because of one semester?
Dont worry it happens to everyone, just make sure you do better next semester and have an upward trend.
The fact that you already know you want to go into dentistry is a big plus btw, you can start preparing for many things... research, dat, volunteer, shadowing.

gl!

joejoe22

Reaction score
I'm in the same boat as you. Based on what I have been told, it all matters on your performance on the DAT. Also, if you prove that you've learned from your mistakes by having an upward trend on the gpa, that will help. Just letting you know that you are not the only one.

teef

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm a freshman in college, haven't received my grades/GPA for the semester yet, but I know I've screwed up pretty badly this first semester in college because of many outside factors. I think my grades are going to be C/Ds in all classes (bio I, eng I, phil, calc I, bio lab).
I'm a biology major with pre-dental interest, so how much impact will a bad first semester have on my dental school application? Do I have a chance?