First year student and already worried about my gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

podschoolmember

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a first year student at Temple, and I feel like I really don't belong here anymore. We've had our first round of quizzes and exams, with several more coming up this week. In just about every single assessment (save for two quizzes where I've gotten 90's and another which was in the 70's), I've scored in the low to mid 80's. From what I know, Temple has an "interesting" grading scheme (e.g. a 92 = 3.0). So with my 8x% average being what it is...I'm probably between a 2.5-2.9 right now in terms of GPA.

I feel like when I study, I can’t remember anything. I can read something 100 times, make flashcards for it, and still sound like an idiot if I try to verbally explain it to anyone. I write down my notes, I highlight them, I make flow charts, I use my computer and type notes sometimes, I highlight the objectives in the power points. I always finish studying by 8 or 9pm every night. This is only the first semester of my first year and I feel like I am going to crash and burn once second year comes around and the workload just only gets worse. And, if by some miracle I make it to third year, I’m going to end up hurting someone because of my incompetence. But by then I’ll be too far in debt to get out. And with how podiatry residencies are, with the vast majority of them not taking anyone with a < 3.0, I feel like I'm SOL.

I know that preclinical grades are pretty much the end-all-be-all for a good majority of residencies in this field, and no amount of venting is going to change that. I've already accepted that. That said, should I just tough it out or should I just leave while I'm still ahead, debt-wise?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Take a deep breath and calm down, you'll be fine.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)