Flight surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDS

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I am a fourth year medical student, recently matched into family medicine. While family medicine was my first choice in terms of residency options during the match process, I find myself now wishing I had signed up to do flight surgery instead. Is it possible to make this transition post intern year? I have contacted the HPSP contact number, Matt Kush regarding this transition and he seemed to indicate that this transition was simply not possible. However, I have recently read of services such as the Army that allow for you to reapply and follow such a route. Can anyone tell me how I might do this in the Air Force and who I should contact regarding such a change. I would really appreciate your help.

Members don't see this ad.

During an ER rotation at an AF base I met an intern there (in the ER program) who had started at an AF Family Medicine residency, found that he didn't like it and managed to become a flight surgeon then get into an ER residency in the Air Force. He did have to complete his first year of the Family Medicine residency before doing this, and he indicated that he had to go through a substantial amount of trouble to do it. If you decide to do so, remember that your case will be unusual and there are no bureaucratic protocols written for the personnel department to authorize this kind of move, so you'll have to deal with a lot of administrative headaches. That said, the Air Force is focusing more and more on operational medicine (I've heard that in a few years they'll likely follow the Navy's formal policy of requiring everyone do a GMO tour before going into residency) so they'll likely be happy to have another flight surgeon.