Floater pharmacist life-what’s your experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmDstud

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I wanna know what your experience has been as a floater pharmacist. I graduated in May and just started in October. I had 2 weeks of training and I’m on my 4th week.

So far I stay 30mins to an hour extra (no extra pay) almost every shift. I think I only left exactly on time twice lol.

What I am frustrated about is that most people think floaters leave messes. I try my absolute best and stay extra as well..I don’t understand how anyone can think you can leave a shift completely clean..especially at a busy store.
I am just starting and trying to make a good impression but I am struggling...idk

Anyways, I can’t wait to hear about your experience!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Honestly, floating isn't as bad as it's made out to be. I live in a suburban area and I never have to drive far. I'll usually stay extra when needed to tidy up for the next day and make sure the queue is all caught up. Do really well, make sure the techs and patients like you and make sure to do what the store manager wants and you'll be good. It paid off for me. I took a steady split at a good store. I literally only have to take one shift every two weeks at another store now.

Don't stay late. No one will appreciate it. They'll still blame any problem on you regardless.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Anything that will give you a peace of mind and sweet dreams, do . Build good relationships with your techs, colleagues and customers. Do not take part in gossiping about others. Do not take sides when issues arises. Pray for guidance and wisdom with every decision making. You’ll be fine. If you’re staying late because of customers issues, it’s okay to request to make up for the hours the following day.

• Love
Reactions: 1 users