focking "except" questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BOOYAH

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i hate them.

i'm studying for this GI path exam and the practice test is almost all "which one of these x is y EXCEPT" questions. it makes me want to stick my finger in my ampulla of vater and give myself obstructive jaundice.

goddamn.

Members don't see this ad.

I had a professor this year who wrote both "except" questions and those multiple choice types where you have a, b, and c as separate answers, yet d and e are combinations of a, b, and c. ******ed thing is that he told us consistently that both these question formats are highly used on the usmle step 1. Way to stay current.

It's a good thing I have textbooks, review texts and the desire to read or else I would be receiving no education at all. :(

Yeah I hate these Q's w. a passion. One of my profs. insists on "trying out" new question types on us. Most hated of all has to be the K-type (I think thats what he calls em) where the stem is: "The pt. had X BECAUSE of Y" and the choices are

A. X is true and Y is true and the relationship is correct
B. X is true and Y is trues but they are not related
C. X is true and Y is false but the relationship is correct
D. X is false and Y is true but they the relationship is correct
E. X is false and Y is false and they are not related

Drives you nuts trying to figure out if the statements are true and if one caused the other.

Members don't see this ad :)
The last example are the worst types on the USMLE, in my opinion. K-types are where:

a) 1, 2 and 3 only
b) 2 only
c) 2 and 4 only
d) 1 and 3 only
e) 1, 2, 3 and 4

AlexRusso said: