Focused on the MD/DO route but researching the PA path

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gatewayhoward

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Today I had the idea that I should research the PA field because I've jumped into the MD/DO path. I've talked to many disgruntled doctors. One cardiologist says his job these days is nothing more than "abuse." Many MD's tell me to consider the PA path.
I've always just written it off cause I used to think you're so close but yet so far from being a doctor. I'm now questionig that idea and wondering if I'll enjoy it.
Right now I've just began majoring in BIology. I have an AA in EMS but I'm still a freshman as far as the BS degree goes. My ambulance company also helps its employees pay for a certain PA program. So it's an easier route than MD but I don't know which route will make me fulfilled.
I asked one PA if there's a bridge program to MD but she said all it does is take one year off med school. Will there ever be a real bridge program?
Does anyone have any advice or ideas for someone in my situation?

Members don't see this ad.

Gatewayhoward said:
Today I had the idea that I should research the PA field because I've jumped into the MD/DO path. I've talked to many disgruntled doctors. One cardiologist says his job these days is nothing more than "abuse." Many MD's tell me to consider the PA path.
I've always just written it off cause I used to think you're so close but yet so far from being a doctor. I'm now questionig that idea and wondering if I'll enjoy it.
Right now I've just began majoring in BIology. I have an AA in EMS but I'm still a freshman as far as the BS degree goes. My ambulance company also helps its employees pay for a certain PA program. So it's an easier route than MD but I don't know which route will make me fulfilled.