For anyone studying for the MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wannabadr10

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to get an idea of how long I should study per day. Obviously this is an answer that changes greatly depending on the person, but how much should I be spending on average per day? I know the answer should be "as much as you can without burning out". What is working (or has worked) for yall?

Thanks for the help!

by the way:
-I have three months to study (writing on march 28)
-enrolled in the TPR class
-class finishes on april 1 and im writing in late march!?!?
-will I be able to learn all of the physics II that wasn't taught before the test?

cheers :)

Members don't see this ad.

Like you said, it depends on the person. I had about three months to prepare and I took a TPR class, and I studied an average of 8-9 hours a day. A lot of people here seem to study from anywhere between 2-8 hours a day. But I am an outlier so many other people are different. Towards the end, try taking many practice tests.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm taking it in late march which leaves about two weeks of instruction that I won't get before the test. You honestly don't think I could learn a couple of physics II chapters on my own?

I know that is very, very common at my school, so I assume you will be fine self-teaching yourself two weeks of physics.

I wouldn't take the MCAT until I felt like I could tutor someone else everything on it...thats if you want to crush it.

Why are you asking if you already have your answer?

I don't have an answer. That's why I'm asking. Of course I have to take the prerequisites. I think we all know that...I was just asking if it was feasible to teach yourself the last parts of physics II. Why are you going to respond if you are just going to make a smart*** comment.

You honestly don't think I could learn a couple of physics II chapters on my own?