• UCI

Votes: 40 67.8%

• Total voters

Mike341

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 26, 2003
Status (Visible)
I am in at UCI and Mount Sinai and I'm a california resident who wishes to return to California for residency. I want to go away for Med school (new york city), but definately want to return for residency. Assuming my credentials will be identical both at Mssm and UCI, which would yield me a higher chance at a residency in California? I want to leave california for med school but not if i'm compromising my chances of coming back later. Do both give roughly equal chances? Any thoughts? Thanks.

exmike

NOR * CAL
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 19, 2003
Bay Area
Status (Visible)
  1. Fellow [Any Field]
you are almost always more likely to obtain a residency in the state you went to school in than obtaining one in a state other than the one you went to school in.

CalBeE

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 14, 2003
Status (Visible)
Originally posted by exmike
you are almost always more likely to obtain a residency in the state you went to school in than obtaining one in a state other than the one you went to school in.

Really? Is that only true at State-funded hospitals, or just all hospitals in general?

About the Ads

TRUE

slacker extraordinaire
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 12, 2004
NYC
www.mdapplicants.com
Status (Visible)
exmike might be generally correct, but if you shine at both schools, you can get a residency wherever you want. If you don't do so well though, you're probably better off staying home.

somekevinguy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 10, 2003
Status (Visible)
what about say duke vs ucsd? thyere both good schools but would you be at a disadavantage for a cali residency (more specifically, a ucsd residency) coming from duke vs ucsd?

Mike341

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 26, 2003
Status (Visible)
Are you guys considering the "residency location factor" when deciding on med schools?

exmike

NOR * CAL
10+ Year Member