For ENT residents - how did YOU learn crash cric?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

europeman

Trauma Surgeon / Intensivist
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How do you learn your crash cric techniques? Often you are the ones called for airway backup, and I'm curious what your training and technique is for this crash procedure. thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

We spend a lot of time in conferences and also informally talking about airway management and difficult airways. We obviously perform quite a few tracheostomies and do a lot of airway surgery. We do not have a specific simulator at my program but I hear one is in the works. With all that in mind, one sort of learns how to do said procedure when put into that situation. Some attendings teach us to do a trach- it's what we do the most of so why do something different in an emergency. As a chief resident I have had two such situations- I did a trach in both situations and everyone lived to tell about it (even me). Getting in the midline and staying there is key. A vertical or horizontal incision will work. The small introducers on the anesthesia cric sets work well as a trach (I think they are a size 5.0) and can hook to the anesthesia circuit if a formal tracheostomy tube isn't available. Alternatively an endotracheal tube can work as well. A real key if possible is to have a headlight handy. No one wants to work in a deep dark hole without a light or suction. Good luck

Thanks for your response.

Interesting.

As a trauma guy we are trained to do it VERY differently in crash cric situation compared to elective trach. I do a lot of elective trachs as a general surgeon and a crash cric or trach for me is not in any way a similar procedure. In crash situation I don't need suction or retractors or an assistant. An elective one I need all of that.

Anyone else?

Members don't see this ad :)

Interesting.