For the LOVE OF GOD...Anyone???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stroszeck

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been rejected two years in a row. I graduated from UCLA with a 3.35 and 20/17 DAT. I only applied to Temple (which gave me an interview) and Cali schools and UNLV.

I don't need encouragement to "Broaden" my horizons to include other state schools.

SHOULD I GO TO A MAster's program and will that help? SFSU, CSUN, CSUF whatever. Because of their deadlines (coming up quick) I can only go to a Chemistry MS with emphasis in Biology. They don't require the GRE.

Will that help? I know I'll retake the DAT again if I have to, but would going to a master's help? And if so, do I have to finish it or can I get teh hell outta that garbage after a year? Please give me help on this specific thing. thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

You just need to broaden your application range. Applying to more private/generous state schools will gain you an acceptance more readily. Even if you are a Cali resident, those spots are so hard to get. Try adding more schools next time around (this application cycle still isn't over though).

The MS degree sounds good "no GRE". You will not likely have to complete it. All you really need is to take additional upperlevel courses and do well. If it leads to a MS degree that is just a bonus.

ALso apply early. Write a new essay (some schools hold on to app for a year or so) get another LOR from a science Porfessor.

And apply to more schools BU NYU Pitt Case Tufts Nova all private schools and a few state schools that are open to Out of staters

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm curious, did you drop your grades in the later years of your degree? Those stats should be good enough for some schools, but maybe not for the ones you applied to.