Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

For those who volunteer at a pharmacy...

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by mustang sally, May 7, 2008.

1. mustang sally

10+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    For those who volunteer, what types of duties do you do while you are volunteering? Do you feel like you get a lot out of it? I have been volunteering in a hospital pharmacy for about six months now, and I just feel sort of eh about it. Sometimes I just feel like I am getting in their way and I am not sure if I am getting much out of it...even talking to the pharmacists hasn't really inspired me or anything as they don't seem overly thrilled with their jobs either. Just wondering what other people's experiences with volunteering were like.

2. Idesiretosling

2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    If you are bored, then go out and get licensed as a certified Technician.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Drug Doc

2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    if you REALLY want to get experience in the hospital then your best bet is probably to get licensed. on the other hand, if you don't want to do that then try to volunteer or work as a clerk at a smaller privately owned pharmacy. maybe i just lucked out, but thats what i did and i pretty much got to do a little bit of everything (except count and consult). also its a very low stress environment, since smaller pharmacy's dont have have the whole 2hr wait thing going on.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. CD5

CD5
    2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    75% of the time I get to do what the techs do but sometimes I'm assigned to the tasks nobody wants to do.