For those worrying

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by BobbyDylanFan, Oct 27, 2002.

1. BobbyDylanFan

BobbyDylanFan Senior Member

Found this on a "profiles site", thought some of you may need it

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am white with 3.55 gpa/3.5 sci
    Small liberal arts college, not well known.
    MCAT 10v 9p 9b and was a biology major.

I applied to 30 schools!! interviewd at 22. accepted to 12 of these!! Harvard, Columbia, John Hopkins, Cornell, were the top schools I was accepted to. Also, I am a CA resident but was only accepted to UCD and USC in CA. I was so shocked at my results that I have asked admissions committee why they accepted me. Their answer: I acted human and they could see I was genuine and I had faults and talents. They were also comfortable being around me, and thought I was a nice person. My advice: aim for interviews, then be yourself... If you are a truly nice and REAL person then you have a good chance to get in.... GOOD LUCK!

p.s. I am going to Cornell

:D :D

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. How were you accepted to Davis already when they haven't even begin interviewing yet???

4. Random Access

Random Access 1K Member

He found it on a site, and it was someone talking about a past applications year. :)

5. Joe Joe on da Radio

Resident [Any Field]
    he must've had INCREDIBLE extracurriculars.

6. BobbyDylanFan

BobbyDylanFan Senior Member

maybe just a nature or science article or two!

7. Mutterkuchen

Mutterkuchen Senior Member

I don't want to be discouraging, because my stats are similar to those, but either this person is lying or has a very outstanding extracurricular. With an average GPA and MCAT there is no way the s/he would have been accepted to 4 top 10s with medium stats without something amazing. It would take olympic gold in my opinion.