for TUCOM students

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by Dancer, Dec 6, 2001.

1. Dancer

Dancer Member
    7+ Year Member

Hi Everyone!
    This is my first time posting. I recently got into TUCOM and would be interested in hearing from students there. At my interview (on Nov 27th) I got a very favorable impression of the school. It seemed to me that the admissions dept. was really trying to recruit a very bright, diverse group of students and that there is a real feeling of community there, as well as excellent professors. Unfortunately, I only had the opportunity to speak to a couple of students. For you current students, would you say that my impression of the school was fairly accurate?

In particular:
    * What is the atmosphere of the student body? Is it very interesting and diverse?
    * How do you like the curriculum and profs?
    * For 3rd and 4th years, how are the rotations? Can many people rotate through the top hospitals in the area (i.e. UCSF)? Is there the opportunity to work with people who do OMT in many rotations?
    * How is the OMT instruction? and are osteopathic principles really emphasized in the curriculum?
    * Do you think that the amount of clinical experience in the first couple of years is good?
    * Do you really have any time to enjoy the Bay area?

I know this is a lot of questions, but any experiences and opinions you could share would be much appreciated. I'm strongly considering going there. :)

2. FutrDr. Watson

FutrDr. Watson Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

Wow, I'll try to answer these questions but I'm just a first year (so I'm limited in Touro knowledge). There is a past post of some Touro students on their basic opinions of the school (thread was called "Western vs. Touro" or something like that).