Forego the AOA match?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Am I safe in foregoing the AOA match and applying IM purely ACGME?

• Total voters

DOcusate

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a 3rd year DO student at a school in the northeast, and I was wondering if it'd be realistic to not rank any AOA programs with my stats. Just trying to get a sense of where I should do aways and where I shouldn't.

Shooting for IM-any program will do:

USMLE Step I: 222 (yeah, really)
COMLEX I: 580

Top 50% of class.
2 publications in high-impact journals
Oodles of community service, etc.

Step 2 and all that business obviously pending. Any help is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I think you will be safe going ACGME IM with those stats (depending on where you apply). Top tier programs will be a reach. Programs in competitive locations (eg California, Washington DC, NYC, Boston) will be difficult too. Some mid-tier programs will show some interest. Community programs will probably show some interest. Unless there is something odd in your file, you should be safe if you forgo the AOA residencies and aim for ACGME IM programs (as long as you're smart about where you are applying - ie don't apply only to Duke/Mayo/Stanford/UCSF/UCLA/JHH/MCG)

Interesting data from the NRMP
http://b83c73bcf0e7ca356c80-e8560f4...tent/uploads/2013/08/chartingoutcomes2011.pdf

Look at Page 101. DO and FMGs fall under "independent" applicants - check out the statistics for Internal Medicine for 2011 NRMP match.