1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Foreigner interested in US of A...

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Fiona, Mar 21, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fiona

Fiona Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi there all [​IMG]

I'm a student in the UK starting med school in Oct and interested in the american way of doing things. I know the basic stuff like you have to do another degree before med (unlike the UK), but what I'd like to know is, what are MCATs? And what sort of Grade Point Average is normal (or even what your GPA is?) for wannabe medics?

And what is Allopathic medicine? And How much are you expected to pay to go to University?? It's ?1050 max for UK students per year - less than $2000 I think..

Anyway, sorry about going on, but I am interested.

Fiona

PS By the way, when you're at school and aged 18 (ie last yr), what year are you in? Sophomore? Or is that something else?

OK, I'll stop asking questions now!! [​IMG]

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Dr'04

Dr'04 Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi Fiona,

I'll take a crack at your questions.

1) MCAT is the test that we must take to get into med school in the US and Canada. Other places require the MCAT as well, but I'm not sure which of those places deem it absolutely necessary and which do not.

2) I've been told that to be "safe" as far as getting into med school goes, you should have a GPA above 3.5 out of 4.0. This varies, of course, depending on your other accomplishments, including your MCAT scores.