FORENSICS and Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silver_eyes

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

i was wondering a possible medical pathway. i know i am just a sophomore in college but, anyway.

i always wanted to become a CT surgeon. i have also stated that in many of my posts on SDN. But, come to think of it 15+ years after medical school is A LOT of time and i want to have a life and get married and have kids, eventually, but i dont want to go to school forever.

i was thinking about general surgery but also a lot about Forensics. Is that a rotation you have to do during medical school rotaions? What exactly would a person do as a MD in forensics. What title do you have(for example: if u want to be a heart surgeon you will say dr. ---- is a cardiothoracic surgeon. if ur in forensics would u say dr. ---- is a forensics doctor?)? How long does it take? the whole pathway starting, with college.

THANK YOU!

Members don't see this ad.

It depends on what you mean by your interest in forensic medicine. Forensics deals with the use of science in investigating facts for use in legal cases. Probably the most well-known forensic doctors are medical examiners. Medical examiners usually work for the government and determine the cause of death by autopsy or inerpret medical data for use in criminal and civil legal cases.

I believe that medical examiners typically pursue a residency in pathology (4 years) followed by a 1 year fellowship in forensic medicine.

There are also other fields of forensics in medicine (forensic psychiatry) as well as other unrelated fields such as forensic engineers and forensic scientists.

Definitely fascinating stuff...melding law and science...