Forensics, forensics fellowship, and life in the legal system

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

luckrules

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone on here do any forensic work? Are you forensically trained? If so this post is for you. Also, please PM me so I can ask you more!

I am currently a resident, and, as always, mulling what I'd like to do with my life after finishing training. We have a couple of faculty who are involved in the forensics world, but our exposure to their work is rather limited. Recently I've come to think that I might enjoy work at some intersection of the legal system, but I realized I probably have a pretty poor understanding of what that looks like and what these faculty do. I intend to approach them at some point to ask about their experience, but I thought I might mine the collective hive mind of nameless, faceless posters here on SDN to try and collect my thoughts before then.

If you are in forensics, what do you like about it? What does your day look like? How much of your time is spent doing "forensic" work vs general psychiatry?

What makes someone successful in forensics? What kind of a person is suited for this kind of work? What got you interested?

My impression is that there are two kinds of forensic psychiatrists, those that spend the majority of their "forensic" time providing care for those who are involved with the criminal justice system and suffer from a mental illness, and those who spend their "forensic" time conducting evaluations and "expert witness" testimony. Is this accurate? If not, what am I missing??

I've heard it said that forensics pays the big bucks because "lawyers are used to paying a lot of money." Is this true?

I apologize for my lack of knowledge. Please feel free to PM me, I'd like to have a more informal discussion if you're involved in this world. Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Th