C

Chocolina

Hi everyone! I've been lurking for the past 3 years, but I never made an account till this year.

I came into college without really knowing what I wanted to do so I decided on being premed while majoring in computer science. I hoped that by the end of college I would have decided, but I'm a senior now and I still can't decide.

Everyone says you should volunteer or shadow to see if being a doctor is for you. I've volunteered at my college's hospital for a semester, but ultimately switched to doing hospice work because I didn't like restocking shelves and wiping down beds. I've been doing that for 2 years along with volunteering at a community center. I've really enjoyed both of these experiences because I've been able to make direct impacts into other people's lives. I dabbled in research for a year, but quit because it wasn't my cup of tea.

This summer, I interned at a big tech company (think Google, Facebook, etc.) while shadowing here and there on my days off. The company offered me a full-time position after graduation so I'm set for a gap year job if I end up applying later on. I also enjoyed my experience here too because the project I was working on went live so a bunch of people are able to see and use it even thought it's pretty subtle.

The only thing left for me to do is take the MCAT which I'm planning on doing after graduation. If it's relevant, my cGPA is 3.7+ and my sGPA is 3.6+ (stupid ochem lol). I'd really like to hear your thoughts.

Thanks guys :D

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: cranialcombustion

Goro

Gold Donor
7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student
You can make big impacts in people' lives without being a doctor. Medicine is a calling.

What does your heart tell you???

Reactions: 863168
OP