Former Teachers or Career Changers to OT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wannabeOT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post here. I am looking for advice/input from career changers about being/becoming an OT. I am a former special education teacher so any input from former teachers would be greatly appreciated. I left my teaching job for two reasons; because I was very unhappy in my role as a teacher, and I had the opportunity to stay at home with my son for the past year. I took my pre-reqs during my year off and will find out in September if I get in to my OT program. Here are some of my areas of concern:

1.I have 6.5 years of teaching experience and 3 degrees. Shouldn't I be putting my education and experience to use?

2. Is OT worth going into $40-$50k or more worth of debt. I am currently debt free, except for my mortgage.

3. Fear of the unknown I suppose-going back to school again in a new field and essentially putting much of my life on hold for the next 3 years. I know it is worth it, but still

4. Anyone have regrets about leaving teaching or another career for OT? Part of me wants to teach again. Maybe thngs will be diferent in another district, but OT looks so appealing. I know there are school based jobs for OTs though.

Thanks for your advice and input. I feel I am at a crossroads this summer and any words of wisdom are much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.