Fourth Year Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

grapejuice27

GrapeJuice
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third-year student finishing up my medicine clerkship and am set on applying to internal medicine residency programs. I have a few questions about next year, if anyone has any advice.

What electives I should choose? What would help me during my intern year/residency?
When should I take my IM Sub-I?
Should I do away electives? In what?
When should I take Step II?
Any other thoughts on preparing for IM residency applications?
To how many programs do people usually apply?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in a very similar situation. I'll be starting fourth year in about 7 weeks and I'm in the process of getting my schedule together for next year.

Here, most students planning on going into IM do something medicine related (cards consult, GI, ID, etc) for block one and then take their SubI in medicine next. Additionally, we usually take either a subI in ED or in ICU (we have to take two medicine related SubI's our fourth year). Our fourth year starts in May so usually by August, most students have both of their required subI's done.

As far as away rotations are concerned...very few people do away rotations in medicine. If they do, they do a consult service or something like that, rather than a SubI. Lots of people do travel and clinical research for a few months of their fourth year.

Most applicants in medicine here (if they are happy with their step1 score) wait to take Step 2 until after interview season is over. (Feb-March) We are told that Step1 and Step2 matter less when applying to internal medicine. More important, are your clinical grades (especially your medicine clerkship), LORs, and (so I have heard) your medical school.