FP Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOtally great

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I was wondering what family practice residency is like. I read a few posts under the residency forum and well I was blown away and afraid 2 death but that post did not specify what field of residency he/she was talking about. I know FP residencies vary from state to state and location in a state but overall how demanding is it. Don't get me wrong I'm not a slacker but at the same time I don't have the stamina and work ethic of a surgeon for example. No disrespect to primary care but I get the feeling that even more time/effort/stamina is needed for specialties but I can be flat out wrong about that. what do I know im just a 2nd year med student. I have my heart set on family practice and I would really appreciate some insight of how fp residency is. Thank you in advance :)

Members don't see this ad.

What do you want to know about FP residency? Hours? Workload?

Regarding hours, I have met the under 80-hour regulation for all of my rotations so far except surgery (ended that one at 86 hrs/week average). For the other rotations I have done I have averaged anywhere from 50-70 hours per week.

The call schedule isn't too bad at our hospital because we have a night float system. During the week our calls are from 4:30-8:30, and then the night float team comes on. Our only overnight calls are Friday and Saturday nights. We get a lot of admissions at night, since we admit for pretty much the whole hospital. There are also a lot of calls from the floors, so our calls are busy, and we don't have much free time.

Workload depends on the rotation you are on. I have been responsible for seeing anywhere from 3-15 patients on my different rotations. FP residency ends up being about half inpatient and half outpatient, so the workload varies.