FP vs. IM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

waverunner

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know there have been millions of discussion on this before.
But I would still like to get your opinions on this.
I am a 3rd yr med student trying to figure out which residency to apply to.
I pretty much came down to FP vs. IM but I am not sure how I can r/o or rule in one over the other. What are the pros and cons of both?

If anyone had a similar dilemma in the past or are having one now, please drop your 2 cents on this topic...

(My current understanding is that I should go into FP if I want to work in outpatient / clinic setting vs. I should go into IM if I want to be in the hospital for majority of my practice.
Also I see the draw to IM b/c then you'd be able to subspecialize and this leads to more procedure and more money (in general).

As for me personally, FP seems to be what I want to do for the moment since I like outpatient pt care more than inpatient care and I am thinking of pursuing sports medicine fellowships...but I am still not 100% sure)

Any advice / opinions will be appreciated!

Thanks guys!:)

Members don't see this ad.

I like outpatient pt care more than inpatient care and I am thinking of pursuing sports medicine fellowships...but I am still not 100% sure

Sound like you've already made up your mind. You'll never be "100% sure" about something before you do it. You have to go with your gut.

I was in the same boat as the OP. It comes down to what you want to do.

For me, I wanted to have some pediatrics in my practice so that's why I chose FM over I'M. I'm still undecided about OBGYN, and if I don't want to deal with OB in my future practice, so be it.

If you are absolutely unsure by application for residency time there are two FM/IM combined programs-St. Vincent in Indianapolis and Eastern Virginia.

Good Luck.

Members don't see this ad :)