fp vs psych

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tatabox80

Super-Duper Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,
I am currently a 3rd year med student on their last rotation...psych. I was just wondering if anyone here was having difficulty making the decision and if so, what made them ultimately decide on one vs the other. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I briefly considered psych (but then, I also briefly considered medicine, surgery, OBGYN, and peds, also ;) )...

I thought psych was a blast. Every day was a bizzare new experience. But it was frustrating to me the narrow range of modalities they have to work with. You either get rehab, drugs, or psychotherapy. Drugs seemed to have by far the best outcomes, but even then, it was often hit and miss, and the side effects were often worse than the disease.

Also, there is something incredibly sad about the chronically mentally ill. Not only are they sick, but they are shunned by society, whereas at least the hypertensive obese diabetic can still participate in society. Our mental health system is really really screwed up..

tatabox80 said:
Hi there,
I am currently a 3rd year med student on their last rotation...psych. I was just wondering if anyone here was having difficulty making the decision and if so, what made them ultimately decide on one vs the other. Thanks.

Hi,