MD & DO fresh bio grad needs advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
S

soolgorae

---------

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Read this:

Goro’s advice for DO applicants in the absence of grade replacement

And just forget about overseas missions. Do your ECs here.

I graduated in December 2016 with a BS Biology degree. But throughout my academic career, I wasn't wholeheartedly committed to becoming a physician but I do have interest in becoming one. Whenever I think about it, I honestly only think about wanting to join my uncle in medical missions or volunteering as one under an NGO, so at least I know myself that my intentions of wanting to become one is genuine and I'll be able to achieve those thoughts (goals?) in the long run.

I kind of just forced myself for my parents to study it which can be reflected from my cGPA of 3.10 and sGPA 2.8 (with retakes counted, though the AACOM retake policy probably obliterated that now). On paper, I was a Biology major who sucked at it the most but I want to convince the adcoms otherwise. I did do well in my upper division classes, especially Genetics and Mol Bio classes since I really am interested in them. Plowing through classes just for the sake of completing my degree and appeasing my parents hurt my GPA a lot, but what's done is done.

I need advice on which path to take to make myself competitive for MD and DO schools, though DO primarily now. Should I retake my pre-requisites at community college? If so, I will have 3 or 4 pre-requisites with a C that I'll need to retake. I'm trying to avoid SMP, but if a Post-Bacc program is more ideal I'd be interested in any advice. Or is it even worth it at all to fix my GPA? I do have 1, 500+ patient contact hours from our local hospital, some shadowing/volunteering experiences, and the time. I haven't taken the MCAT yet.