Freshman desperately seeking advice in Mental Health field!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mlatalla

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a premed and psychology student at the University at Buffalo, but I'm starting off having a hard time. My Gen Chem grade last sem was a B- and it looks like it's going to end up the same for this sem. My passion is mental health, and I'm looking to become a psychiatrist... but with the damage I've already done with Gen Chem.. is it even possible to step it up enough for med school... I know that med schools like to see you take more than one science at a time.. So I was suggested to take orgo and bio together next sem but if I can't handle it I'll damage my gpa...

My only ohter option I can think of is to switch to nursing, and become a mental health psychiatric nurse practioner... (although I haven't really looked into the requirements, or how long it takes).

My passion really is mental health, but I also want a career where I will be able to support myself (which is why I'm not really trying to do just psych or social work)

Members don't see this ad.

One B- will not keep you out of medical school.

A PhD in Psychology (with a clinical focus) or a PsyD would have you practicing at a high level and give you the option to do research as well. It's not really easier than getting into med school from what I have heard, but there is more emphasis on the research you do in college. You might want to look into those routes if you are not liking chemistry and the other natural science courses. Keep in mind, though, that PhD/PsyD holders cannot prescribe medication.

Calm down. You got one B-....it's not the apocalypse.

Members don't see this ad :)
One B- will not keep you out of medical school.