• Advice You're Thankful for Contest

Now that it's getting close to Thanksgiving, we're running a contest to hear advice you've received that you're most thankful for! This can be any type of advice and the advice with the most reactions will win!

JOIN CONTEST

Freshman having doubts, opinions?

Matt2194

Nov 1, 2012
    Hello,
    Since middle school I have thought I wanted to go to medical school and be a doctor. I did well in sciences through high school, enjoyed them, and got into a good school. I'm now a freshman biochemistry major.
    Problem is, I've only been here two months and am already having serious doubts. Although the end product (being some sort of doctor) is something I could really see myself enjoying, I really don't think I am going to be happy the next 10-12 years. After half the semester, I don't see myself being the person who doesn't mind all that time in school. I'm not sure I'm committed enough to spend that much time in school.

Are doubts like this normal, or should I consider doing something else?
    I've recently been thinking about physical therapy because I tend to really like anatomy, more than I do bio.

Any thoughts?

Thank you

Double A

10+ Year Member
    5+ Year Member
    Dec 25, 2008
    1. Medical Student
      it's definitely normal to have doubts, but don't try too hard to convince yourself either way. you need to sit down and really think about what you want to do with your life. there are so many careers to choose from in science and healthcare.

if it's just length of schooling that you're concerned about then you need to find a career that you can start straight out of college. engineering is the first thing that comes to mind.

Aerus

Elemental Alchemist
      7+ Year Member
      Apr 21, 2012
      1. Medical Student
        Hello,