Freshman year.. help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blackarrowmoose

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Im a freshman in college and in my first semester of classes.

Im taking Writing, Spanish, History and Chemistry.

However, i feel as if i am not doing.. well "enough" to start building my profile for med school.

Im planning on working as an EMT possibly 2nd or 3rd semester, however i also want to take part in other activities.

Im in fencing club, but thats just a sport, and i was wondering if any older and wiser people on SDN can give me advice on what to do?

Members don't see this ad.

First and foremost come your grades. It sounds obvious and straightforward, but just make sure you're acclimated to college life and have your head on straight. You can have all the right ECs but that Freshman string of Cs will be tougher to overcome. Start out on top in that regard and ace the intro classes.

Join an organization you're interested in, plan on getting involved and looking for a leadership position at the end of the year (even if it's a committee chairman or publicity coordinator and not necessarily president, vp, secretary, treasurer). That'll set you up for Junior year being one of the more significant leaders.

Get volunteering/clinical exposure. Get in touch with the local hospital and volunteer a small amount of time per week to help out. If you're able to show a little volunteering over a long period of time at the same place, it speaks volumes. Do some other volunteering events/join a volunteer org (if that's your thing) that is non-medicine related, as well.